Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Came across this forum tonight and looks like the perfect place to get some expert opinions. I lay tile for a living and this is the first time I have personally had to add support to a floor. I normally skip this part and tell the customer they should have someone else do it. To keep this job I need to do this myself though.

The floor I am tiling does not meet the calculation you do for a tile floor, but it is only off by 1-2 joists since the room is angled. 2 joists span too far and if I add a small beam between them I am fine. Just to be extra safe I am adding it much longer than needed to support even more of the floor though. Space doesn't really matter since it is a crawl space.

Little info on what's needed. Like I said it is in a crawl space. 4 foot crawl space with cement foundation. Plan on using an 8 ft beam and 2 floor jacks to support it. Was originally just going to throw up two 2x12s screwed together, but they would like to use something smaller if possible. What would you guys recommended for the beam? Are there any laminated options out there that would be the equivalent? I would like to overbuild to be extra safe my tile work stays safe.

Also what do you guys recommend putting under the floor jacks so I don't hurt the cement in the crawl space? It won't have to carry the load of the floor, just be snugged up.

Thanks
Aaron

·
Banned
3,292 Posts
For one a 8 ft beam with two supports is shoddy. A floor beam should have supports ever 3 to 4 feet really it depends on load but since you gave bare min.. This should suffice. Also do you plan on putting in concrete piers that contact hard pan?