Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

Sub installed wrong floors how to figure out cost difference?

7K views 15 replies 15 participants last post by  cbfx3 
#1 ·
Working on highend remodel (1.5 mil home)....New hardwood flooring 3/4" Brazillian Cherry (sand and finish).... Sub was contracted to install Clear Grade 6" X 8' (primarily) boards.... (note first time using this wood floor contractor-he came highly recommended by several other contractors and tradesmen - I am new to area, but have 25 years of experience)

There are NO boards over 65" with 85% 16" to 24"....My client (and I as my reputation is on the line) is, understandably, not happy.

Sub states they didn't receive the correct product and in the need to meet deadline chose to install and finish what they had received. Without telling me.

They are suppose to use only long term employees, some supposedly 30 years. Some of my other workers said the guy on the sander said it was his first floor job!

The floor should have a very consistant grain and coloration, due to grade and long boards....however it is very patchwork looking with dark heavy graining as well as tight graining...

Sanding is another issue....many places over sanded with divits and some boards with noticible graining and others very smooth.

Client doesn't want to live through removal of floors or resanding.....but not happy with finished product....Sub offered $1200 to $1500 off of a $24,000 job to accept floors as they are....to me laughable!

Any ideas of cost for these "shorts" (6" X 16"-24" boards).... I think if the client is willing to accept these floors (which I think should be removed and completely redone) there should be a "huge" rebate.

Thanks for any suggestions

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)