Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 130 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We work with subs all the time obviously as a Builder/Architect/Designer/GC and we always require a signed agreement before work begins.

We use a standard agreement that our attorney based off of NHBA and AIA contracts. Normally, our subs don't have an issue. However, for some reason, PLUMBERS have had a MAJOR issue signing our agreement.

They say things like "I don't do business that way", or "I am not out defraud anyone so I don't need to sign your agreement" or "I don't believe it's fair for you to hold back 10% at the end of the project for 5 days"...and on and on.

Aren't these things standard? I've been doing this for 10 years and just recently have had such an issue with plumbers not wanting to sign an agreement but only wanting to work on a handshake.

Does anyone else have this issue? I refuse to work with anyone not willing to put our "meeting of the minds" on paper and just base it on a "handshake". I told them that that is bad business and also really stupid.

Thoughts?

·
Kowboy
2,279 Posts
He may not be willing to sign because if you read an AIA contract, you'll see that the architect can't be held responsible for anything, but the sub can be held responsible for everything.

Perhaps if these contracts were written more fairly, it would be easier to get subs to sign them.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
He may not be willing to sign because if you read an AIA contract, you'll see that the architect can't be held responsible for anything, but the sub can be held responsible for everything.

Perhaps if these contracts were written more fairly, it would be easier to get subs to sign them.
I'm sorry, anyone that does business "with a handshake" is a fool. Period. And I've told them if they disagree with any of the verbiage I'm happy to adjust it/etc.