Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
General Contractor
300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am studying for my C10 exam. I took a one day class last weekend. They gave me a 20 question "final" at the end of the class and a few of the questions/answers did not seem right? What do you think the correct answer is for each?

A bedroom does not have a ceiling light. A wall outlet in the bedroom does not work, assuming the outlet is properly switched. What should the contractor do?
a) Replace the non-performing switch
b) Install a ceiling light
c) Nothing, assuming the outlet is properly switched
d) None of the above.

and:

A stranded wire with the same AWG as a solid wire _______.
a) Has the same resistance
b) Has a higher ampacity
c) Is larger in total diameter
d) Is used for higher voltages

·
I own stock in FotoMat!
12,701 Posts
What do YOU think the answers are, and why?

·
Eater of sins.
4,576 Posts
Not being an electrician I will say that both answers are (A).

No ceiling light presupposes that there must be a switched receptacle and therefore the switch is not working properly.

The second, I am fairly sure that both wires are equal in resistance and can carry equal amps, voltage etc. and other factors other than the stranded is more flexible.

Probably wrong but what the hell, I have never shied away from publicly humiliating myself before so why should I now?

Andy.

·
General Contractor
300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
My answers were.

a) Replace the non-performing switch.
If the outlet is wired properly then it must be the switch that is the problem. Or a better answer might be to test the switch first. So "D" would be the best.

As far as the school , they said the correct answer was
"c) Nothing, assuming the outlet is properly switched"

for the second one i said "a) Has the same resistance"