Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. This is my first post on this particular forum, although I have been reading a few threads, and you all seem to have a wealth of knowledge about the industry. My question is this: I'm currently a student studying Construction Management, and I anticipate starting a contracting business some time in the future. My goal is to be a GC on commercial projects, and I'm willing to go through with the sometimes difficult steps that are necessary to get there. I'm wondering if any of you could provide insight into which position I should be seeking with a company once I graduate if my longterm goal is to go into business on my own. Maybe some of you work for yourselves and gained crucial experience working as an estimator or a project manager for a separate company first. If so, your advice would be appreciated.

Thanks and keep up the good work.

·
Registered
2,716 Posts
Management----that is the key word ---a GC better know how to manage--so get your self into the office or in the field as an assistant to the foreman or big boss---

Yes, having skills and knowledge of the different trades is also crucial--but a GCs main job is organizing--estimating---and managing the different trades.

Study contract law--

·
Registered
12 Posts
Amen to mikeswoods.

I went to school for project management myself (my company paid for the whole thing) and I got TOTALLY screwed on my first project out of the gates. Literally the worst experience of my life, and it was all because I wasn't mentally prepared for it.