Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if anyone here has experienced a change in customer attitudes since the recession. I worked for 14 years without nary a complaint about my prices, as I'm very affordable (single male, no kids, no house payment). And then I get two in a row. None of these people I have worked for has experienced any hardship due to the recession.

I 've also noticed that people are doing things in stages and taking on some of the work themselves, even when it's only saving them 50 bucks.

I've kept busy, but I've had to do advertising, something I've never done much before.

·
Registered
5,425 Posts
Definately, people are buying into the recession even if it is not affecting them, i have noticed a more conservative attitude in general. Pockets are tighter. G

·
Registered
2,703 Posts
It's the mind set. People are now being educated to save, and cut-back. All people, on all financial levels, are being edcucated that way = now.

Regardless of whether they have been "visually" affected or not. Keep in mind, that things are not always what they "appear" to be.
Also, realize that even the previously wealthy, have been impacted, and have experienced a "hit" to their wealth, ability to acquire bank loans, and the value of their overall equity.

People, are now prone to be "deal hunters", and "discount hunters".

Realize, that even before the recession, that there were people doing this. "Getting a Deal", or "Getting a Discount", is a relative point. It is subject to interpretation.

A "good deal" to one person, may not be a "good deal" to another. That is where you have to be creative. What you offer, what your specialty is, what makes you different.

Examples (suggestions) of what I do, that have reaped good results: