Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings Everyone- I am a military veteran that just came home and I have decided to start my own Taping business and would like any insight from anyone on this forum. :Thumbs:

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
mike, sooooooo un-cool. My vote is you outta here now.
CVN-65, 1969-71

·
Registered
2,407 Posts
I tmight be kinda hard getting hooked up right away in your area depending on building projects at current time, regardless start doing leg work talking with some of the medium to larger contractors about getting squeezed into some of their projects. Have some resources available to them so they can check out your work and speak with the folks you worked for to get a feel of your work ethics.

Leave your card with ANY contractor you can get it too, all it takes is one project and if you do a good job and are priced right things will iron out in the end. Close freind that went into business for himself worked for a drywall company for about 5 years prior and already had good relations with bigger generals so was a shoe in when it came time for him to step out. Speed is essential as well as good work. My buddy has 2 other guys working with him now and on average tape 2 1200sqft home a day then go back the next to spray, so obviously having the proer tools is mandatory if you wanna get into the mix.

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
Teetorbilt said:
CVN-65, 1969-71
It'll be cool to see what CVX-78 finally looks like when Big E gets put to pasture. My uncle is retired Westinghouse and still keeps up with most of his old buddies that are spread around the defense industry. He says they're are some pretty wild things in store for the next generation carriers. Big power plants will support weapons systems with extreme electricital demands (any guesses where we're going with that?) and above water profiles will be drastically different.

·
Registered