Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am struggling to start my residential framing biz.

I have over 10 years experience in residential framing

Recently I have been sub'ing for Home Depot building storage buildings. I want more!

I want to start new home framing biz

My first hurdle is reading the prints.

Over the years I have never HAD to be able to read the plans. I am only 32 hours short of a civil engineering degree so I have a base knowledge of prints.

Is there a good place to start? I know its easy just need to be pointed in the right direction

Thanks in advance

·
Premium Member
6,938 Posts
Yes it is very easy, the best thing would be to just get a set of blueprints and grab a ruler or a tape measure and start measuring and figure out the lf. I hope you know where to look for a scale on the plans. If you do it should be no problem.

Or are you asking window and door sizes and that kind of stuff.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Cole_21 said:
Yes it is very easy, the best thing would be to just get a set of blueprints and grab a ruler or a tape measure and start measuring and figure out the lf. I hope you know where to look for a scale on the plans. If you do it should be no problem.

Or are you asking window and door sizes and that kind of stuff.
I know how to scale but refresh me if ya have time

Yes you are correct, the main thing I need (for walls) is how to interpret rough openings for windows and doors. I have a basic knowledge. i.e. a "2-0" door is simply 24" ?

thanks bud

·
General Contractor
1,035 Posts