Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts
A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was offered participation in a new electrical contractor bussiness. I am a Master Electrician and currently working on a salary. I am interested in drawing a contract with the people who have organized this company.
Please help me with some of the issues that I should be addressing in that contract. Commissions, liability, whether to work with them as a partner or as an independent contractor, etc. I live in Florida. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
If your a partner you have a high risk for liability. If you are an independant contractor you are at less risk, but will probably also have less reward. Florda is a b!tch of a state when it comes to contractor regulation!

My advice: Seek the advice of a lawyer before you sign anything. A few hundred bucks now might save you millions (literally) in the end.

·
Registered
46 Posts
you can become a limited partner in the company. they would be the general partners and you would only be liable for the money you put into the company, they can not go after anything personal, etc etc. so the company would be formed as an Limited Partnership (LP) an attorney would be more than willing to draw up the paperwork and set out what percent and rules etc etc. cost would be around 3-5K that is based on what it has cost me for a LLC with partners here in cali through an attorney. indendent contractor you would need to get your own insurance, pay your own taxes, do your own books etc etc.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
Alberto, Are you a member of your local builders assoc.? I belong to TCBA (Treasure Coast Builders Assoc.) and they have a couple of attorneys that are available and willing to answer members questions. The longest I have spoken with one was 1/2 hr. about the new Workers Comp. laws. They also give member discounts for contracts, etc.