Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
The Duke
14,746 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I should know better because I am a novice at best when it comes to matching stain. This is just a really small job, it's a 3' Cherry support post in the kitchen.

The kitchen is 10+ years old according to the HO and the cherry cabinets have darkened considerably. I took my best novice attempt and went to (sigh) HD and picked up the obligatory Minwax Cherry stain and didn't even come close to matching it. I let it dry and put 2nd coat on the test piece and now it looks spotchy compared to her cabinets and now new damn cherry seats.

I know....get someone who knows what to do.

I'm hoping you guys take it easy on me and tell me how to avoid the splotching first, then how to match it up. Aniline dye? Better stain?

·
Registered
5,425 Posts
It might be natural, sand down, use a pre stain conditioner, that will prevent the blotch. Do you have some sample pieces of the cherry to work with?. Matching stain is not something that works like an exact science. G

PS, there is nothing wrong with minwax for the job you are describing, often a combination of stain colors are required to match an old job.

·
The Duke
14,746 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well, I'm certainly educating myself and it's about time too. I want to start doing some higher end stuff soon.

This is what I have done with the recommendation from Gene & Metro. I went back to HD and got some pre stain conditioner from Minwax and you're right Gene, there's nothing wrong with that.

I am assuming pre stain conditioner is thinned linseed oil since that's what it smelled like to me. Not sure though. Oddly enough, the splotching got worse for reasons I assume were on my end. So frustration led me to YouTube where I found some guy named the wood whisperer lol.

This is the video I watched from him