Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am repainting an apartment I own. It has the popcorn ceilings, so I gotta spray that. Here was my idea, spray stain sealing primer thru out walls and ceiling then spray flat on ceiling and walls, assuming the ceiling looks o.k. doing the final coat of semi on the walls by hand.

Would it be considered 2 coats on the walls? The first is the flat that was sprayed the second is the semi that was done by hand.

Do any of you painting pro's have a problem with this?

Obviously I am not a painter by profession.

regards,

Bruce Hawkins

·
...jammin
5,234 Posts
Tonkadad said:
I am not a painter by profession.
How big is the apartment?
Have you sprayed before?
Are you borrowing, renting, or buying a sprayer?
There's a learning curve on those things, and they are pretty messy
If you're not used to it, or used to taping things off, it won't save you any time really

If I am understanding you correctly, I'd say you really don't want ceiling paint on the walls

2 coats is generally considered 2 coats of the same paint

Are you sure you really need stain sealing primer on the whole place?
Is it that bad?

Unless there is something unusual about this apartment, or you have experience with and have access (not have to buy or rent) a sprayer, I think I'd suggest doing it by hand with the proper prep, tools, and materials

·
Pro Painter
2,314 Posts