Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an engineer but I figured you guys and girls who actually do the work might have a solution for the problem below. Thanks in advance.

A guy renovated his house and installed new rafters with a 12" overhang. He only has the rafters and sheathing on the front portion of the house. The problem is that the property line is basically the edge of the building and the neighbors driveway starts right at the property line/edge of building. The runoff from the roofs lands on the driveway. The guys neighbor is a real piece of work and complained to the building inspector that the overhang is now 4" more onto his property and that the stormwater runoff goes onto his driveway. The neighbor won't allow gutters to be installed because the encroachment on his property would be another 4"-6" even though we are talking about 20' in the air.

Is there a type of gutter system that can be installed within the overhang, like a trench drain?

Anyone know of any other creative ways to prevent water from pouring onto the driveway?

Worst case, I believe the code official will let him reinstall the rafters with an 8" overhang as that was the existing condition but the owner would rather not have to redo the work.

Thanks.

·
water re-locater
7,511 Posts
sounds like this guy is going to have more problems than just the gutters living next to this :censored: I think you might be talking about the old yankee gutter type of system? Might be tough to find guys that still do that but you never know

·
Registered
2,055 Posts
sounds like this guy is going to have more problems than just the gutters living next to this :censored: I think you might be talking about the old yankee gutter type of system? Might be tough to find guys that still do that but you never know
most guys who install slate/tile will be familiar with yankee gutters, box gutters etc.