Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Banned
588 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There seems to be fewer and fewer custom cabinet builders. I have talked to a few that say competition from HD, Lowe's, and Big cabinet shops have made it nearly impossible to compete. I have done trim carpentry for quite some time and have always wanted to get into cabinets. Is there any small cabinet builders out there doing well?

·
Registered
6,102 Posts
As a carpentry contractor, I have a small shop at home to build small stuff as needed for the renos. You can't compete with me on that.

But, I have a small (one man show) cabinet maker who builds my kitchens for me when needed. He has spent the last 15yrs building up his business to where today he is fairly busy.

The problem is he cannot compete with standard or even quality kitchen companies. Hence, he only does very, very high end work, for the discerning customer. A typical kitchen from him is about twice the money of a top quality HD kitchen.

So the market for his work is very small. If you can't do high end custom work, I don't see how you could compete.

Always open to new avenues though, :thumbsup:

·
Registered
234 Posts
You could try to start pushing more cabinetry into your basement finishing gig. Home offices, entertainment centers, built-in storage, etc... are all good ways to get some custom cabinetry going in a basement. Plus it's the best advertising for when your basement customers are ready to re-do the kitchen. :thumbsup:

It'd be tough to swing over to doing cabinetry competitively full-time. Plus, cabinetry can get boring. It's lots of fun in the design and planning stages, and very rewarding when it all comes together in the end, but there's alot of repetitive monkey-work in between. I'm always happy to land a nice cabinet job, but I'm glad that it's only one component of the work that I do.

·
Uber-Member
327 Posts