Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I am currently Rehabbing a home that has a slate roof, It looks very bad but does not leak that I can find. It was laid over cedar shingles, was this common? There are alot of lose slates and no drip edge or gutters and has caused damage to the trim and that will need to be repaired. My question is: Is this repairable? Can drip edge be added the the existing slate? Or should I have it removed and install shingles? How much would it cost to remove and install? Any Info on this would be great!

Thanks

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
Oh you made my cringe when you said laid over shingles. Why would anyone do that?!

The drip edge can be added but the slates at the overhang will probably need to be removed and re-installed. This is not too hard to do, but is time consuming.

If this were my house and I had the time (since I am a roofer) I would remove all the slate and save 'em then toss out the shingles and re-install the slates with proper underlayment. I don't think youa re a roofer so if you've got the cash, hire one.

A properly installed slate roof should easily last 100 years. Yes you will need periodic repairs but shouldn't have to replace it.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Grumpy said:
Oh you made my cringe when you said laid over shingles. Why would anyone do that?!

LOL, so i guess it wasnt common... Thanks for the reply, I am not a roofer and will be contracting it out. However I am just rehabing and selling this home and looking at all my options. I dont like the look of the slate but figured since it wasnt leaking i may be able to save it. If I was to take it off I would have them install shingles. What would you charge to remove slate and cedar and install shingles?

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
Even if you don't like the look of slate, slate will have a higher resale value.