Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone I just bought a HD77 wormdrive from a local Homeowner and the saw looks to be in great shape and used very little . But with no load on it there is a rattle sound coming the front of the saw there was oil in it but looked to have never been changed and was low . Is the rattle normal for this saw ? It dosen't do it with the blade removed I am new to wormdrives been a sidewinder guy all my life any help appreciated .

Circular saw Fishing reel Auto part Tool

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes asgoodasdead I took the diamond from the blade I have checked every bolt and nut I can find on it and still it rattles. There is some backlash in the gears more then the Ridgid WD at HD but not sure whats considered normal for the Skils. The oil looked like black tar when i drained it maybe wrong kind was used at some point .

·
Super Moderator
24,787 Posts
Those 77's can make any number of noises.

Very difficult to kill one of them.

Usually what kills them is too much lightweight cord.

I've seen those things go over 20 years with no oil change or adding any oil.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the reply's Ill keep an eye on it as I plan on giving her a workout tomorrow I am gonna run it and change the oil again to try and get as much of the old cruddy stuff out and ill order a set of brushes and give that a try also. If nothing else i'm only out $60.00 so a set of gears would be a cheap fix .

·
3rd Generation
257 Posts
You can clean the old oil out by draining it and filling with kerosene. Run for a few minutes and then dump out, and add fresh oil.

·
KemoSabe
14,233 Posts
You can clean the old oil out by draining it and filling with kerosene. Run for a few minutes and then dump out, and add fresh oil.