Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read many post about different software used for sitework take-offs, bidding, and job managment. I have absolutely no experience with any of this and currently do everything the old fashion way, pin and pad. I am wondering if there is anything out there that would be beneficial to us. We do 2-3 million dollars of work a year, hiring 8 full time employees. Our work includes everything from building ponds and house pads, hauling dirt and rock, and the largest portion from small to medium commercial site prep.
Any advice or comments would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
19 Posts
To start with, if you're turning that kind of money year after year you diffently need at least a good take off program. I've been using Paydirt since 1986 and have always gotten good results with it. You can still buy Paydirt and their support group is really good but I don't believe they are advancing the program to the next level any more. If you're on annual support, you get a little de-bug update every year or so. Ag-Tech makes a good program that has gained alot of popularity over the years, the only complaint I hear from Ag-Tech users is that upgrades can be real expensive. Paydirt charges around $400.00 a year for maintenance and support and is really worth the cost. I also own Carlson Takeoff which does takeoffs as well as builds 3-D models that we use on our on-board GPS Systems. I haven't tried any of the cost based estimating systems because what we do can differ a lot from day to day which screws up the cost based analysis based on crew size and machine type. I've spent several years developing and modifying my own excel workbook to build my bids easier. I've never dealt with any of the project (job) management programs, my plates pretty full most of the time between bidding and building 3-D models for our machines. Good luck on your sea