Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a excavator by trade but help my dad build one to three customs a year. We are starting my sister and brother in laws house In about a month and He wants to spay foam everything 3" of closed cell in walls,4" on concrete basement walls, 4" on rim joist, and at least 2" on the top of drywall in attic for moisture barrier. Then put 20" or so of blown in cellulose or fiberglass overthe foam. All this with Anderson 400 windows and thermatru doors and we glue all bottom plates down and Vulcom joints. We live in northern Illinois and my heating and air guy is concerned about this approach because of sick house syndrome and noway for excess moisture to escape. Just want other professional advice or opinions. I don't know if this is in the right forum topic either so sorry.

·
Contractor of the Month
26,075 Posts
Plenty of houses built like that here, but we have to seal everything in 6 mil poly anyways.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Your brother-in-law has the right idea... seal and insulate the house well to fight the ever increasing heating costs, but install a heat recovery ventilator (HRV, as mentioned by Eric) to control the intake of fresh air and rob some heat from outgoing air.

·
diplomat
5,292 Posts
Third on the HRV. It's the modern, better way. Make it as close to balloon-tight as possible, then ventilate.

·
Registered
599 Posts
FWIW, given this is my first post.....I built my house very much the same way you describe except I chose to spray foam the underside of the roof rather than the ceiling so the attic is semi - conditioned space. My heating and cooling costs are very low and we have no problems with "sick home". As others have said just make sure you have some sort of mechanical ventilation in place and you should be good to go. Good Luck with the build.

·
Registered
3,920 Posts