Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been sub-contracting through a storm damage contractor for about nine months now. I am trying to decide whether to keep doing work for this guy or not. A good majority of the work is small piddly crap that I really do not care to do (replace 2-10 pcs of siding, things of that nature) and the contractor pretty much expects me to drop everything else I have going on to go do these small repairs within 24 hrs.

On the plus side, he only does storm damage work (roofing and siding) and has no problem with me marketing and selling other jobs to his customers (so far this has been small stuff like storm door installs, small repairs, but I did get one nice basement finish out of it).

When he calls for a full reside, I'll typically get the call on a Monday afternoon and have to go and measure out the house for materials so he can get an order in by Wednesday morning at the absolute latest to start the job the following Monday. How are his salesmen selling these jobs without knowing material costs and quantities?

Lately these resides have been happening 1hr 15min from my house. On the last 2, material was 2 days late (he supplies material). I figured I would give the house I was supposed to start yesterday an extra day for material to get there, so I didn't go until this morning and still no material. I called him and complained a bit, to which he answered "Well, it's not my fault, you should be checking with the yard to comfirm delivery dates." Shouldn't that be the generals job?

My dilema is that the resides always seem to fall into a break in my schedule, keeping my guys busy. I have a lot of work right now, and more calls are coming in almost daily, with a lot of bids going out also. I'm reluctant to drop him because of the convenient timing so far, but the PITA factor seems to be growing exponentially. Any advice?