Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys I am a trim carpenter and painter by trade and am broading my horizons into framing. I have framed houses for awhile and have pondered the question over sheeting. I am new to TX and have always wondered the holding power differences of round shank and chipped head nails. I have seen some data but in practice nails overpenetrate OSB and the small difference of a clipped head vs. full round head seems to be negated. I have both stapled(in KS) sheeting and nailed and the stapelin if done right seems to hold better to me. I do agree that nails have more sheer strength but if it's halfway through the sheeting where as a staple has the staple to grab more surface area of the OSB. I know the IRC and IBC have crunch plenty of numbers but I would like to see real world walls under stresses of tornadic or hurricane winds and see the difference. I mean if both can take a F5 tornado but the house is 50ft in the air whats the point?
I know I stirred up an hornets nest here but if someone has some common sence data i can find somewhere that would be great.

·
Uber-Member
327 Posts
Honestly, I've never seen the difference in using clipped vs full head nails while framing. Both hold very well, but the code in mass says to use full head, so thats what I use. I actually still have a few boxes of 8d, 12d and 16d bostitch clipped heads. I use those for misc. extra blocking etc..

When using OSB either turn down the pressure or adjust the guns nose so the nail doesn't penetrate too far.

Funny...I have never heard the term "sheeting" around here. "Sheathing" is the terminology around here.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·