Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey all, I'm in need of a shallow anchoring method for plaster over concrete ceilings to hang curtain rods. This is a luxury high-rise condo in San Francisco with tons of restrictions/requirements. Here goes.

approx. 25 anchors
screws no bigger then a #10 or 3/16 diameter.
I can't drill any deeper than 1".
No expansion fasteners
No Tapcon screws, because the shortest are 1 1/4"

Basically, limiting me to drill and epoxy or powder actuated fasteners?

If I use drill and epoxy I need a product that sets up fast and works for interior, overhead application. I would like to set all fasteners in the morning, take lunch and come back to hang the rods in the afternoon. Is there anything that sets up within 1-2 hours.
Powder actuated seems like it would go faster, but it seems pretty permanent and I've never used them before, so I'm a little gun-shy (pun intended). I guess I could do some test shot to get feel for it.

Fresh ideas appreciated.

·
Banned
356 Posts
Drill the 1" holes (MASONRY BIT!) and stuff them with wood or soft plastic then screw in your screws. Plastic from 5 Gallon bucket tops is strong and soft. slide in 2 long thin pieces and run the screw between them.

I've been using this method for years on brick, I tend to stick to plastic for exterior mounting due to the wood eventually giving out.

MZ-HANDYMAN

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sounds like it might work but wouldn't that be considered an expansion fastener? I don't want to take any chances seeing as how I would be agreeing to very specific terms by very rich lawyers. Maybe I could dip the strips in epoxy first, then insert them into the hole. The screw/bracket would hold weight immediately and the screws would be epoxied.

·
Banned
356 Posts