Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

Sh I lend NJ license to PA contractor

6284 Views 19 Replies 18 Participants Last post by  Haas Builders
Not sure what this all involves, but a PA contractor would like to "use" my NJ license to do a job in this state. What are the legal, tax and liability issues? I'm assuming I would become the general contractor, in name only, in exchange for a percentage of the job. Should I stay away from this?
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
fly by night builders

I’m interested in know what company, about a year ago I had an offer from a company that wanted to build some homes and a few retail stores. I did some research on the company and couldn’t find anything, which led me to believe there where a fly by night operation looking to scam me. I would suggest doing some research on them
I'm not a lawyer nor do I play one on TV, but I would think that using your license would make you liable for the job. Unpaid taxes, leins, lawsuits would fall on you as the license holder. A percentage (possably of nothing) doesn't compare to the totality of grief you could possably assume. I'm assuming this was a call from someone you have no history with. Run. Just my 2 cents worth.
I wouldn't let anyone "just use" my license. God forbid something goes wrong, your name will be all over it.
never let anyone use your license to do a job anywhere...I've heard horrible stories about that..understood? NEVER!
Reactions: FrankGi
You're kidding, right??

Hey, by the way, - - do you think I should let someone borrow my social security number?? :rolleyes:
Not sure what this all involves, but a PA contractor would like to "use" my NJ license to do a job in this state. What are the legal, tax and liability issues? I'm assuming I would become the general contractor, in name only, in exchange for a percentage of the job. Should I stay away from this?
You have got to be joking! :eek:

Never lend your license to someone from Jersey!

Attachments