Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure what this all involves, but a PA contractor would like to "use" my NJ license to do a job in this state. What are the legal, tax and liability issues? I'm assuming I would become the general contractor, in name only, in exchange for a percentage of the job. Should I stay away from this?

·
David Festa
2,561 Posts
fly by night builders

I’m interested in know what company, about a year ago I had an offer from a company that wanted to build some homes and a few retail stores. I did some research on the company and couldn’t find anything, which led me to believe there where a fly by night operation looking to scam me. I would suggest doing some research on them

·
Registered
159 Posts
I'm not a lawyer nor do I play one on TV, but I would think that using your license would make you liable for the job. Unpaid taxes, leins, lawsuits would fall on you as the license holder. A percentage (possably of nothing) doesn't compare to the totality of grief you could possably assume. I'm assuming this was a call from someone you have no history with. Run. Just my 2 cents worth.

·
Registered
6,858 Posts
Not sure what this all involves, but a PA contractor would like to "use" my NJ license to do a job in this state. What are the legal, tax and liability issues? I'm assuming I would become the general contractor, in name only, in exchange for a percentage of the job. Should I stay away from this?

You're kidding, right??

Hey, by the way, - - do you think I should let someone borrow my social security number?? :rolleyes:

·
Registered
178 Posts
You have got to be joking! :eek:

Never lend your license to someone from Jersey!

Attachments

·
General Contractor
3,444 Posts
NJ has licenses? ;)

·
Al Smith
2,392 Posts
NJ has licenses? ;)

of course we do

why don't you just pick him up? or ask him to have one of his helpers drive him to NJ?