Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, Iam totally embarassed to ask this question. I am a Texas master plumber and have been so for 30 yrs. I plumbed a new house around a year ago using Pvc sch 40 drain and vent lines. I plumbed the washer drain with 2"drain going directly into 3" drain some 5"away and 1 1/2" vent. The trap T's off the vertical vent close to the floor. We ran vent towards back of house about 20' making sure it had correct rise on it. Now when the homeowners
Run washer they get a sewer gas smell occasionally from washer drain. So I thought it must be vent, I cut vent going towards back of house and installed an Auto vent in attic. Which are considered legal in our area. This took care of problem for around 2 monthes, now They are getting it again. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Tanias55

·
Registered
6,858 Posts
Sounds like a question for Plumguy, - - but I don't know if I'm understanding you right, - - do you mean the 'trap' is close to the floor??, - - shouldn't it be like 48" high??, - - or at the very least, - - 6" above washer 'rim' level to prevent siphoning??

Sounds like the trap and/or vent needs to be higher.

All right, - - I'll shut-up now (before I get in more trouble) and wait for Plumguy.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Sorry I didnt make it very clear, but the washer trap is about 6" above floor with a standpipe coming out of trap to washer box at 36" off floor. There is no floor drain in laundry room. Thanks, Tanias55

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Something I just thought of. This house happens to be last house on this branch of sewer main. I wonder if sewer main could be building up enough gas to affect washer drain since its the most water going down sewer at a time. I might try installing 4" running trap on sewer coming out of house?

·
Registered
5 Posts