Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
819 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
5 days ago I replaced a customers sanitary pump...the float died (3 years old)

I also added an alarm....tested out the pump/float/alarm 3x....

2 days later the alarm goes off...the main float is DEAD...so I replaced it

2 days later the basement is flooded again...this time the alarm float didn't work And the Sanitary pump float didn't work....the pump still works

4 floats dead in 5 days

house is 3 years old and built by a lower price bulk builder

im thinking something is wrong with the electrical and its burning out the floats, but yet not tripping a breaker

not possible to have 4 defective floats when ive never had 1 before

help!!! I make my 3rd trip over tomorrow to replace floats again...

id love to have some electrical advice

·
Registered
819 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
im a plumber...I don't know how to measure electricity

ive come up with a theory over night

maybe the outlet itself is bad and working occasionally.....so it stops working and it appears the float has died...then I come and pull out the plug and put it back in and then it works again for a while

im going over this morning with an extension cord....im going to plug it all in at a different outlet and see if it all works....its at the point where ive lost $$ on the job...and I cant keep going back to replace floats....if they need replacing again im going to tell him to hire an electrician and that I wont replace the floats again under warranty......something more is obviously wrong with his house

·
Registered
4,732 Posts
Anything's possible... You can't even check voltage??

·
Registered
819 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Anything's possible... You can't even check voltage??
im a plumber....I can barely push in a plug into these new childproof outlets