Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,
I just joined this group today in hopes I could tap into the collective wisdom of your skills and trade. I'm a remodeling contractor in Seattle with an interesting and perplexing problem project.
I'm doing an addition on a 105 year old mansion that is on a historic registry and the HO wants to maintain the architectural integrity of the house with the new mods. The foundation is a CMU block that is odd sized and has chamfers on all edges. The wall caps are made from cast concrete. Problem #1 is we can't find a CMU block or wall caps off the shelf to match so we are looking at having them custom made to match. We have this dialed in/no problemo.
Problem #2 is we have to remove one of the existing blocks and wall caps and take it/send it to a fabricator out of state.
Question is: anybody have any great ideas for removing a CMU block from the middle of a bearing wall without busting it or adjoining blocks to pieces or damaging the edges?
Same with the wall caps?
I've tried a cold chisel. I bought a diamond Carbide sawsall blade and will try that tomorrow. But a grinder and a Skilsaw with a diamond blade on it won't go all the way through the grout joint to free it completely because of the chamfers on all the edges only allows about 2 inches of penetration into the grout joint. Entertained using a 3/16" rotohammer bit between the blocks to make some relief cuts in the grout joint but I'm afraid 3/16"(which is the smallest rotobit I can find) will damage the chamfered edges.
Any ideas would be appreciated.
Pic's attached:
Thanks
BjR

Attachments

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Concrete chain saw?
That's a new one for me......
Got a link to a specific product?

·
Registered
73 Posts