Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have been in the installation and qc roofing business now for three years. i am just entering the world of sales. the thing is i know i can sell, but i lack a good sales pitch. im not really sure where or how to start putting a pitch together. not that i want a scripted pitch. but definetly would like to put a track to my pitch. any help would be great.

·
Flooring Guru
2,794 Posts
One thing is to explain Features, Benifits, and advantages.

Oh yea,

start high and work your way down...

way easier

·
...jammin
5,234 Posts
I don't know a lot about roofing, but I used to train salespersons
The first thing I did was say sell me (show me what you got so far)
That way I'd know what I had to work with

So soldiermccoy, my house looks like it needs a new roof
Whataya got?

·
Registered
50 Posts
I'm an electrician...

When starting one of my informal sales pitches, usually when I'm at their home doing an estimate, I say "I'm an electrician, not a salesman, if you'll show me what you want, I'll tell you what it costs to do that, no more and no less"...

I'm wearing my toolbelt, I've opened their panel and poked around a bit, so I really look like the seasoned journeyman electrician, not a salesman.

This disarms them and reduces sales resistance...

·
DGR,IABD
9,683 Posts
I ain't no salesman, but adapting my electrician's pitch to roofing:

1)After you've roughly measured up the job, sit down with them and say, "there's a couple of ways you can go with this...", and proceed to talk about the features and benefits of different options, whatever they might be (slate, 20 year 3 tabs, 50 year archi's, etc.)
2) Talk about options. "Now would be a good time to replace those tired gutters and downspouts", or "Sure would be nice to think about the windows too.", etc.