Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Livin the dream...
6,624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can any type of hardwood, engineered or solid 3/4 be fastened over old 3/4 hardwood floors?

OK if run perpendicular?

OK if separated by 3/8 plywood?

This question is coming to me a lot lately and I'm unsure what is ok and whats not. Could use some teaching...thanks. :thumbup:

·
Registered
5,057 Posts
Spencer said:
Can any type of hardwood, engineered or solid 3/4 be fastened over old 3/4 hardwood floors? OK if run perpendicular? OK if separated by 3/8 plywood? This question is coming to me a lot lately and I'm unsure what is ok and whats not. Could use some teaching...thanks. :thumbup:
It won't fully answer your question and I'm not an expert but BC started a thread a day or so ago regarding a similar situation that had some good stuff.

http://www.contractortalk.com/f10/3-8-oak-over-3-4-oak-145968/#post1969503

·
Livin the dream...
6,624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

·
Registered
1,751 Posts
Your first original post is correct, I looked it up in the NWFA book , I don't have the latest. Also 45 doesn't need 3/8 ply. For adhesive finish has to be sanded off.

·
Registered
810 Posts
Has to, my ass. To write that costs the writer absolutely nothing. It can cost you a living if you pay attention to their boilerplate drivel. They fear an attack from some greasy lawyer. The reality is stuff will stick to other stuff if there is decent adhesive in between. Anyone who has done this for very long knows that.

What I find hilarious is the fact that every finish manufacturer in the world now has some re-coat strategy that does not involve getting back down to bare wood. Hmmm. Apparently you can get their chocolate into somebody else's peanut butter no prob.

This doesn't directly cross over because there are too many variables. Most of the relevant ones haven't even been mentioned.

O well. Off to bed.

·