Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,
I'm a carpenter, & have only marginal knowledge of the myriad of flat roof systems.
My Columbus Ohio home has a very low-pitched porch roof that needs serious attention.
The roof is approx 10ft X 32ft including box gutters on three sides.

My intention is to strip the roof, but try to leave the box gutters intact. The box gutters are tar coated & leaky & will have to be lined with rubber too, but starting over from scratch on them seems overkill.
Aside from welding up ¼" plate steel, or poured concrete, what roofing material will hold up best to abuse?
Maintenance requires scaffold & ladders be placed on the roof to reach the exterior of the upper two floors.
I realize that there is no material that will take heavy abuse, but I'm wondering about repairs to whatever I choose.

All along, I have been thinking that a rubber roof would be installed.
After doing my research I find that liquid EPDM is available.
If I install new OSB & liquid EPDM, it seems to me that the surface would be resistant to the kind of abuse that I am foreseeing. Additionally, patching would seem to be a no brainer.

Question #1
Any pros or cons re liquid EPDM? I'm totally open to the fact that this system may be crappola.
Question #2
Would a traditionally installed sheet rubber roof be better for any reason, & if so, what is the best fastening system?
Question #3
I find that alternatives to sheet EPDM exist & fall into the category of "rubber roof". Is there a better rubber that can be easily DIY patched?
Question #4
Have you a better alternative to a rubber roof?

Thanks,
And, I take back all of those things I ever said about roofers.......

·
Blissfield Maintenance
45 Posts
epdm