Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Box Builder
6,320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I don't hang a lot of board at all. But I got a roto zip because I have a bunch of recessed lights to do. So, I am not good at running this thing. I believe I have it setup correctly. Hanging 1/2" blue board. I have the bit set at 5/8" and I'm using a guidepoint bit. The bit is still digging into the rim of the can though at times. It also seems to be overheating, which I'm sure means I'm going to slow, or pushing to hard. I'm assuming if the bit digs into the can rim that it is set to deep, but I'm afraid if I set it any less it won't find the lights at all. I am running the thing counterclockwise. Any tips or hints for what I am doing wrong? Thanks, Nick.

·
Pascoe
8 Posts
Nick - I am by no means a pro at hanging gyp, but we recently did remodel with 44 can lights. We found the most success with letting the tip run through the gyp about a 3/8- 1/2". Just enough that it can run the lip of the light, and have more surface area on the metal lip.

Hope this helps.

Brennan

·
Registered
7,076 Posts
Run it deeper than that. You're NOT aiming to hit that single 16-guage lip, but you're trying to run around the full ring, which is usually a little conical, and which the tip will run along just fine. Just keep it moving.

·
Registered
Remodel
31,166 Posts
sounds like you're too deep. Also, the bit will get hot if you're pushing it against the can - it should ride there just from the bit rotation, you just keep pushing it forward.

Last cans I did I just used a hole saw, then hung the board, which is faster if you don't goof.:whistling

·
Registered
4 Posts