Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been asked to roof a geodesic dome house. Does anyone have a simple way or formula to measure the number of squares on the house? Carl

·
Registered
1,712 Posts
I'm not a calculus expert, but I don't think there is a formula for measuring surface area of a geodesic dome (a geodesic dome is not really a dome, but a polyhedron, so the link above is not much help).

From what I could tell after a google search, you have to know the surface area of the individual planes, and sum them. I.e. figure out how many shingles it will take to cover each triangle, multiply by number of triangles that size (may be that all of them are the same size, I can't remember), and then throw in some ungodly waste factor because it's all hips.

I don't know how the ones we did were estimated either, but I could ask if you're still around.

·
Been around
1,237 Posts
The surface area could be approximated by the surface area of a sphere minus an estimated percentage that is truncated at the bottom. Try and figure out you drip edge, there is a challenge. But seriously I would imagine there would also be a pretty high waste factor on the roof .

·
Registered
26 Posts
What I would do is tell them straight up that it is going to be a job where the materials are just what they are. The surface area of a sphere should be greater than the dome so that gives you a max, but then you have to add waste so the sphere may be closer to right. Just one of those things where they have to understand that the cost is very hard to set beforehand, and if wasn't sure I would either turn it down or try to talk them into letting me charge them by the hour.

·
Registered
1,712 Posts
Run away? I'd love to have a dome job right about now :shifty: