Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

This is my first post and I'm pretty glad to have found this site, I hope someone here can answer my (probably, pretty dumb) questions.

I am a landscape contractor and I usually work on older houses with all brick walls. I am currently needing to attach a small landing for a spiral staircase to a newer house with a brick veneer. The joists are TGI and are running in the same direction as the wall that I am attaching to. My plan is to reinforce the area where the landing will go and put some threaded rod though the rim joist(?) and out the brick so I can bolt my landing against it.

My questions are as follows:

Do rim joists run around the whole building or just at the joist ends?

can I reinforce a tgi joist with blocking? would I just fill in the cavity with a 2x? to support the threaded rod?

any other ideas on how to achieve this?

Thanks,

Jason

·
Pro
506 Posts
Hi,

This is my first post and I'm pretty glad to have found this site, I hope someone here can answer my (probably, pretty dumb) questions.

I am a landscape contractor and I usually work on older houses with all brick walls. I am currently needing to attach a small landing for a spiral staircase to a newer house with a brick veneer. The joists are TGI and are running in the same direction as the wall that I am attaching to. My plan is to reinforce the area where the landing will go and put some threaded rod though the rim joist(?) and out the brick so I can bolt my landing against it.

My questions are as follows:

Do rim joists run around the whole building or just at the joist ends?

can I reinforce a tgi joist with blocking? would I just fill in the cavity with a 2x? to support the threaded rod?

any other ideas on how to achieve this?

Thanks,

Jason