Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
#1 stunner
576 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What do you guys prefer? I have both programs but haven't had time to dedicate to see what each program can to its full potential other then a few generic renderings. I am looking to put some serious time in one of the programs and leave the other one on the back burner. I have probably 9 or 10 years worth of autocad experience and years of sketch up but starting to like what I see coming out of these new programs.

What do you guys like?

·
#1 stunner
576 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't need a link to a forum I already posted in :)

I am looking for personal experiences, not how to or need help threads.

·
#1 stunner
576 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Please show me a side by side comparison thread between the two programs until then, keep out or post your experience between the two. :)

·
Eater of sins.
4,684 Posts
O.K. with all of that said in my humble opinion Revit blows. I have Revit 2008 and I have Chief X2. I got Revit to do some light commercial work as I thought that it might be the one to have for other than residential. I use Chief for all my commercial stuff too because I find Revit to be too damn cumbersome. Every time I need a window or door that is a little out of the ordinary I need to go through a lot of steps to find a family file with the door I need, load it, install it and hope it looks like I need it to.

Chief is almost too easy to work with with specialty items. I click in a door and if I need to I can change THAT door or window to suit my needs.

Revit is a powerful program to be sure and the cross sections are the best, lines clear and crisp, it has a great ability with materials and lists.

Revit is more powerful than Chief in a few respects like team members collaborating on the same plan file, and other things but for my money Chief is the way to go.

Andy.

·
#1 stunner
576 Posts