Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an electrical contractor in California. A solar company recently contacted me and asked me if I was interested in working for them and being their RME or RMO. I have read in CSLB website and the License Law book that a RME needs to be actively involved with construction operations and work full time for the company. Does a RMO have to follow these requirements? What is the difference between an RMO and an RME?
Can a construction company or solar company have more than one RME or RMO. Can there be multiple RMEs all using their licenses to complete jobs for the same company? Or is their only one RME or RMO for all operations for a company?

·
Registered
60 Posts
Layman's terms - The level of risk of being the RMO is stratospheric! As an RMO you are an officer of the corporation and hence absolutely responsible of EVERYTHING that goes on both what you know about and what you don't, and which you MUST be involved full time in every aspect of the contracting business.

An RME is a bit less risky but your still responsible and you must be supervising and checking all the jobs. DO NOT as an RME have anyone give you a position of running a crew on one project when your company has 500 installs in one year, visit each site and be the son of a bit*h QC guy (permits pulled, clean safe installs, finals done, site is safe, etc., etc.), REMEMBER YOU are responsible hence RESPONSIBLE managing employee or officer!

I wish someone gave me this advice 35 years ago before I have qualified almost 20 companies as both RMO and RME since the early 1980's.

Good luck and yes talk to the License Guru he knows his stuff!

Reactions: paulgarett

·
Calif Licensing Expert
1,999 Posts
I don't remember seeing this in my thread, but I found it here. Thanks anyway Griz. I always appreciate the assist.