Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Residential wiring issue

2K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  griz 
#1 ·
I'm a carpenter since '06 when I started with my father. I worked for several companies and independents over the years both residential and commercial. I'm factory trained Jeld-wen, Simonton, Andersen, Trex and VSI certified installer. I own and operate a small handyman biz out of New England. Lots of bath remodels, decks, doors and windows, and misc. repairs. I did a couple doors for these people and also rebuilding the front porch rails/balusters. They asked if I could install the fixtures, and I'm ok with fixtures and some basic electrical but I don't know how to troubleshoot this. The wires are all black clothe sheathing, no colors to denote hot or neutral. How can I differentiate the two so I can properly install these fixtures without blowing old fuses over and over?
Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks to the mods for deleting my previous post for no reason, even though I'm a contractor and you didn't even allow me to reply to your question about who I was.
I've been operating my independent contracting business since 2015 and I just had an electrical question to ask. Trying to actually fulfill this forums purpose, why do legitimate posts get removed so hastily and haphazardly?

#2 ·
Because this place gets inundated with DIYers asking questions, so it’s possible that one legitimate contractor that is unknown might get swept up.

The solution to that is to post an introduction, so we all know who we’re dealing with. 👍

Thanks for the intro. 👍

As far as your question, the first thing I want to point out is that you most likely have an old ungrounded system.

NEC only allows extensions or modifications of ungrounded systems if you either pick up a ground ( there are a few ways to do this) or to add GFCI protection.

There may also be AFCI requirements in your area.