Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
GC/ Master Electrician
384 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been working as an electrician for going on 15 years now. I have stuck primarily to commercial, institutional, and Industrial. While working for other companys in the north east I was requested to do a few high end houses in the 1 mil. up range. Maybe 5 houses in my entire career. Of course all I had to do was the install. I am now working in East TN. and have my own small company doing the same work as before. I have been asked by a very well connected person to do the electrical work on his sons house in North Carolina. He even offered to pay for my testing and license fees. Everything sounds well and good. I have done a complete takeoff on the blueprints and faxed the parts list off for a few quotes. I was wondering if anyone could give me an adverage price of wiring a 2000 sf house with 3 baths, 3 bedrooms, 200 Amp service, and no fixtures. Or whatever would be close so I can see if I am even in the ball park. I came up with $8,000 labor wich seems to be alot for this type of work.

Thanks in advance

·
DGR,IABD
9,683 Posts
My total price would be about 8K at a minimum or as high as 12K without looking at the prints. Prices vary a lot from market area to market area, and can vary by how closely you'll wire to absolute code minimum or whether you'll make it "nice" and how much structured wiring (low voltage) stuff you're doing. I understand the code minimum installs in your area are between 2.50 and 3.50 per square foot, so that would be from 5K to 7K total for a local contractor. I don't do "per square foot" estimating. A complete takeoff, such as you have done, is the way to fly.