Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have about 10 original, steel frame windows I need to replace in a brick face of a house. I have never done this before.

I like the sound of cutting away the perimeter of the original steel frame to use as a stop for the new replacement windows, however I am unsure how to finish up the external appearance of the original frame. The finish on the original metal frame was a 3/4" bead of a rotted, calk-like material (from 1938, lol).

The perimeter's edges of the original frame are sure to be far from perfect because I will need to use a reciprocating saw to cut out the rest of the old window frame. What would be the fastest, clean method to finish the external appearance (avoiding the use of a brake if possible)?

It's really tough to find any good information on this procedure from beginning to end on the internet. Thanks for any help in advance!

·
Registered
2,517 Posts
Yeah,my trade is ALL.I can do everything and know how to do it.That's why I'm on a internet forum asking stupid questions on my first post acting like I'm a pro.
Sorry but does anyone else around here see an influx of posts like this lately?
Trade"ALL"? Can you make me a custom crack pipe out of stone?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah,my trade is ALL.I can do everything and know how to do it.That's why I'm on a internet forum asking stupid questions on my first post acting like I'm a pro.
Sorry but does anyone else around here see an influx of posts like this lately?
Trade"ALL"? Can you make me a custom crack pipe out of stone?
I set up an account on this forum looking for useful information on something I'm clearly inexperienced at. Rather than resurrecting an old thread from 2010 I decided to start a new topic in search of input.