Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys

I am a painter by trade and we have an exterior door frame that needs replaced. It is a steel door frame that is in a brick exterior with a concrete block interior. We are dealing with relatively new construction that is very sound.

I am going to contract this work out and I would like to familiarize myself with what needs to be done for this job.

Please help me understand what is involved in this job and what type of results I could expect with the finished product assuming who I contract does good work.

Thank You

·
Project Superintendent
2,525 Posts
If this thing was installed properly it will be a tough job, but it can be done. It should have 3 anchors inside the frame on each side which are layed in when the block is layed, and then the whole thing slushed solid with mortar. You can easily tell if this was done by tapping on the frame, should sound solid, not hollow.

I would reccommend you hire a concrete cutting company to do this, they have done it before, and can get it out without damaging the masonry.

Why do you need to take it out?

What's your location? and did introduce yourself in the introductions thread?

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
this could be a simple operation also.just as mudpad said there should be the door anchors on either side of the door.these are thin metal plates,shaped as a tee.
now the simple part could come in as the person removing the frame,may be able to get a sawz all blade between the door frame and the block.depending on how tight the block layer laid to the door.if it can be done,it would be a matter of sawing tru the anchors.but another issue would be the anchors at the bottom of the door.when i set a metal door frame for block,i use 4 tapcon screws at the bottom.
that to me will be your biggest problem.but it can be done without having to remove brick and or block.
good luck.