Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First introduction- I'm a self employed contractor out of Central Vermont. I try to do mostly Energy renovation work, more commonly known as weatherization, I have a background in masonry, and tend to take on whatever comes my way. I hope this is in the right section, please tell me/ and mods please move it if it should be moved.

I have a client with a old farm house (post/gurt and balloon hybrid, weird) I believe its well over a hundred years old. Wet laid stone foundation. About 15 years ago an addition was added on, the abutting stone wall was removed at that time, I assume this, although it is possible that there was a previously an outbuilding in that location.

the stone foundation on the weather side of the house is pretty well shot. The homeowner can't afford right now to put a new foundation under the whole house, so I'm looking for a solution that will hold the house up and keep the weather out for a couple of years until we do the whole (%@#!#@ thing.

I'm thinking that since the top of the wall is where the largest problem is, that I will dig down and remove the stone until I'm down to something pretty solid. I will then lay 8" block back up, leaving room for a 2x8 PT to be placed between the block and the gurt.

Any other ideas? suggestions? comments on my approach?

Ill see what I can find for pictures.

BZ

·
General Contractor
8,192 Posts