Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Purchased the all-white house in 2001. It is only 960' and was probably considered a starter home back in the day. I have been renting it since 2003. Scraped/sanded and sprayed primer and Behr satin latex.

Scraped/sanded, brushed on Zinsseer primer and again sprayed Behr satin latex in 2013 (10 years).

After 7 years, it is again peeling badly. I began sanding yesterday. The south wall is bad almost to the roof. The east wall about four feet up. Some peeling on the NE wall. Some peeling along the lower, more shaded west wall.

What can I do to increase the time between paint jobs? Better materials? More coats? No spraying?

I assume that, ideally, it would be stripped down to the bare wood but I am not willing to spend the time and money (back in my rural, midwestern home town, it would be covered in vinyl siding :eek:).

I am certainly willing to spend the additional money on the best quality materials.

(The the stacked-stone foundation settled causing cold air intake and frozen pipes. The dirt was a temporary solution.)

Attachments

·
Registered
Remodel
31,010 Posts
I don't use any of those primers. I used to use SW A100 oil based for spot priming. Now I use SW 100% acrylic semitransparent stain. Top coats SW Super paint or better after 6 months to a year after the stain.

·
Registered
Remodel
31,010 Posts
Best practice is to brush the primer, or back brush it.

You didn't say how you clean the surface before priming.

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I failed to mention that the house in in Northern Colorado with a semi-arid environment with app. 14" of yearly rain.

Front photo from previous paint job.

Attachments

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I sanded the loose paint down to bare wood then pressure washed the house.