Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How difficult is it to remove a whole HVAC system out of a house?

I want to buy a 1 year old Carrier 92% Furance and A/C system from the homeowner and was wondering if there is any specific steps that I need to take. I will be hiring a certified HVAC tech to install it however, I will be removing it from the house myself.

Thanks,

John

·
Registered
2,950 Posts
I assume that it is a split system, with the compressor outside the house proper, with piping running to it. The EPA requires that only people certified in refrigerant removal clear the lines. To move a split system, the piping must be opened, and the refrigerant reclaimed.

I suggest that your HVAC mechanic both remove and replace your new unit

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Anti-Wingnut.

I have been rehabbing homes for nearly 20 years in the Cleveland, OH area. I always hire contractors to do the installs of new furnaces for me.

I have taught myself over the past 20 years to do tile work, kitchen cabinets, hardwood floor refinishing, electrical panel upgrades, window installation, plumbing, and even building new garages I just thought i would be able to save a little money by doing it myself. However, it looks like it would be best to have my HVAC guy remove it. Thank you again.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·