Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
J.Snow
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok Guys, relatively new to this site but really enjoy the feedback and involvement here so I have a question for you.

I've been a full service remodeling contractor here in Massachusetts for the past 20 years. We are relocating as a family to S.E. Florida this summer due to an job opportunity my wife has received that really was too good to pass up for her. After a couple of difficult years here, I'm ok with a re-start down in the warmer weather but with obvious concerns.
I'm already in the process of dealing with the license issues and need to consider where a customer base is going to be generated from. Rather than be a full service contractor, from the start anyway, I'm thinking of focusing more on a niche or something like kitchens or interior finish.

Question: If you were I, what would be your first means of marketing yourself? My work has always been word of mouth so I haven't had to do a lot of marketing. Do I go after architects? homeowners? storefronts? Mailings? Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance,
John

·
Love me some Concrete
1,834 Posts
I had a done small jobs for years for friends of friends, so I had work pretty much right off the bat when I hung my sign.

The other way was I installed for Lowes, loved it and hated it. The corporate thing sucked the fun out of it but I made some very good clients and was the #1 rated installer for the tri-state region 1 year. Heck, the millwork people still hand out my card instead of using their own installers, shhhhhhhh.

So all in all, that was a good move.

·
Registered
1,377 Posts
When I was visiting in Florida, I noticed that everything is different than in Mass. the finishes, the stucco exteriors, tile everywhere, no basements, clay roofs, etc.

I wondered how much different the construction techniques were down in FLA.