Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5,057 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I built this end panel for a job we are on that has 8' 8" ceilings and we needed it to be deeper than 24" as you can see in the photos.

I used the TS55 and ripped the side going to the wall at 5° then I put into place, ran down the wall with a pencil, used the angle grinder method to scribe it. Did that a couple times to get it perfect. Also did the floor line as well. Then I glued and clamped a 2" piece to the side for screwing to the wall after it was in place.

I've never done something like this before so my questions...

If it was built off site how would you handle making it the right size to still be able to custom fit it to fit the wall, floor, and cabinet face frame and still have a way of attaching it?

Is the method I used to attach it normal or do you guys do it different? Any other thoughts, observations, or suggestions are welcomed. I love learning from you guys to be able to do better quality work for our clients.

Room Property Refrigerator Major appliance Wall
Ceiling Property Room Wall Architecture

·
Maker of fine kindling
6,199 Posts
The way you did it looks fine to me. The only unfortunate thing is the cabinet is about 6" too short.

If we built this box the left stile would extend to the floor with a little extra length for scribe. The left end would have an extra 3/8" at the wall for scribing there as well. Given you have crown, the whole assembly would finish about 1 1/2" from the lid with the gap covered by the crown. That distance is driven by the size of crown and the reveal I want between the crown and door.

The cabinet is placed on the wall, shimmed plumb and level. Set the scribes appropriately and mark the bottom and wall line. Take it down, cut and grind like you did and stick it back up there.