Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Contractor
4,735 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been picking up what bits I can for drilling some anchor holes in well cured concrete but keep burning them up (hitting aggragate). What bits have you used which have provided longer life? I'm using a cordless dewalt hammer drill...not cream of the crop but it's convenient and gets the job done (it's rare for me to have to drill in concrete)

·
Project Manager
2,642 Posts
I've had good luck with Hilti bits, but then again, I only use Hilti for concrete drilling.

I'm not a Hilti expert, but depending on the chuck type of your DeWalt, you may be able to get some Hilti bits.

·
KemoSabe
14,233 Posts
I like the Bosch bits as well as their rotary hammer. I always start with about a 3/16 hole. If there is aggregate in the path, the smaller bit will do a good job of breaking it up. Then I step up to the appropriate size bit.:thumbsup:

I have a set of bosch bits that I use in my DeWalt hammer drill and I am yet to destroy one of them after nearly 7 years of light use.

·
Contractor of the Month
26,075 Posts
I got all hilti.

What size and depth holes?

Is your drill an sds sds plus sdsmax or spline?

Or is it a half inch?

If you said half inch, go get an sdsplus.

·
Contractor
4,735 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
that's the drill-it's convenient and works great for the lighter masonary stuff. does the little dewalt not have enough hammer action to effectively get the job done? I've been using the bosch bits at the box stores and they are not holding up long. I may be to blame as the speed is a little to high and is likekly heating up the tip.

1/2" holes 3" deep.

I tried a smaller diameter hole then moving up to a 1/2" but the larger bit wandered and then the hole was off center-not cool when working from the top to the bottom trying to keep posts straight.

·
Registered
2,407 Posts