Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
That guy
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My new day job is for a company that makes custom barn doors and the hardware that makes them work (sliding on rails and all that goes into that). I am working on improving production.

After they build the custom doors they paint them by hand. One brush stroke at a time. With CHEAP brushes. (Some latex, some enamel, and some stains.)

Imagine my surprise when I find out that the hardware side is doing great (roughly 1 week delivery after an order is received) but the doors are as much as 50 days out.

With all of that in mind, what do you think? HVLP? Airless? I am not a painting expert by any stretch of the imagination. (To put it in context I recently bought the newest generation of Wagner turbine kits, Flexio 890, for my own small projects at home (like a garage door, and kids play set that needs to be re-stained). I am WELL aware that this is not a production unit.) In my own work I have always avoided painting whenever possible because I don't have the equipment (skills, experience...) to do it right and efficiently. And I hate rolling and brushing.

But now we need to become spraying experts for the sake of production. Where do we start? I'm inclined to pick up the little Harbor Freight HVLP that a lot of people like just to try out that approach, and maybe try a door or two with my plastic fantastic Wagner, but it seems like there's probably someone out there with a more intelligent approach. :)

Thanks!

·
That guy
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
It's probably obvious, but I should emphasize that quick cleanup and color changes are major priorities. I'm thinking HVLP is probably the winner in that department?