Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I saw a bunch of you guys talking about bikes in another thread, so I figured you'd have some experience on this subject. I'd like to buy a small sized bike to drive to work because of gas prices and because I've always wanted one. I dont know if I should go for a smaller street bike or a buy a street legal dirt bike to be able to trail ride a little too (not that I see myself doing much trail riding anyway).

I'd like to keep it at or under 250 in size, a friend had a 250 Ninja as his starter bike and said he loved it. I'm working on a small budget and would like to buy an older bike to stay at or around 1k, $1500 tops.

I dont really want a bike for cruising, but I dont need a 'crotch rocket' either.

Something easy to ride would be nice, I have a lot of experience on snowmobiles and quads, but haven't riden any with a clutch or anything that has any real balls to it (except a few drag sleds, which are easy to ride anyway).

Recommendations would be great, pics help as well. A street bike would be my preferred style.

Thanks.

·
Flooring Guru
2,794 Posts
I was thinkin the same thing.
A moped would solve all the problems you seem to have...and hella great miliage.
A 250 would suck *ss just as much..

I figure a 500 Vulcan minimum if you want anything close to a bike that'll get ya laid too :)

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Dont need a bike to get laid, but thanks.

Anyone riden a 250 Ninja before? Everyone I talk to says to start with one of them. Good prices, good milage, can still do 100+ mph if I want to...

·
Flooring Guru
2,794 Posts

Of course you don't. What was I thinkin :)

I doubt you will hit 80 on a 250.
I can only hit 90 on my 650.
But 90 is fast enough for me. Although I have been on the rockets and been impressed.