Votes: 1 100.0%
  • would you pass this info on

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting started with my own business. My father has been in the remodel business for 20 years. As a kid I spent many summers working for him. Now I have several small projects started on my own.

I did some waynes coating and crown for a friend and his contractor liked my work. He has hired me on one of his jobs and wants to know my hourly rate. I am novice at the pricing aspect of the job. I don't want to over charge or under charge but to be fair, as I want more business from him. He has supplied all the materials and some tools.

At this point your are asking why I don't just ask my father? He lives in the country and I am in San Francisco where the average one bedroom home is $700k. So his prices are far lower then the cost of living wage @ Taco Bell.

Job includes.

1. Stringer trim.1 stair case
2. Window Trim 13 windows
3. Crown molding 4 rooms
4. Base Molding 4 room and two hallways.

Whats the average rate per hour? :cool: :cool:

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
Ask him what he was paying his last carpenter. That doesn't mean you accept this price, it just means you don't under bid yourself :)

Next figure out how much YOU want to make an hour. Now figure in your overhead. Your overhead are things like your truck payment and depreciation. Your gas for your truck. Your cell phone, and or office phones. Any advertising is also considered overhead. Heck! Any expense you have in relation to keeping your doors open, but can't bill to any specific job is overhead. INsurance, liscenses, advertising, rent, utilities, tool depreciation etc...

Now add all that up for a full year. Divide by 52 weeks. This gives you your weekly overhead. Now divide by 40. This gives you your hourly overhead! Even if you work more than 40 hours, just use the 40 hour number!!!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks Grumpy