Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3,042 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a past client that asked me for some help. I'm retired and moved out of the area, so I can't do the work.

Apparently they hired a GC to replace around 500 lin. ft. of railing. He gave them a rough quote for a powder coated pre fab steel railing last year. Now they are ready to go ahead with the project. The GC now tells them the quote was wrong and the railing cost is over twice as much as the original estimate. (this is where we tell the GC to take a hike right).

The GC is also telling them that all types of railings cost about the same. Of course we all know that isn't true. (once again, tell the GC to take a hike.)

I have no experience with fabricated steel railings, so I'm wondering where they fit in with the price scale of railings. My ex client used these options and was asking me to rank them with a very rough cost factor.

All wood railing with wood balusters
All wood framing with square aluminum balusters
All wood framing with cable railing infil.
Pre fabricated steel railing.

Thanks folks.

·
John Hyatt
3,658 Posts
Hey Mark !

With pre fab steel railing I employ two outfits.

One is really fast but the welds don't look all that great. Some Folks don't even look at things like that They just want it installed.

The other is not so fast but every weld is nice.

One is three times the cost as the other. No powder coat, they both come with a spray coat of primer / two coats of black finish. The install cost is almost nothing because they just bolt down to the decking. They both come out and measure I usually pick them up at the dock.

Cost....hummmm the fast one is around the cost of square alum / wood. The other one close to cable rail. Okie cow town is bound to be lower cost all around than Cal costs. Mark Man, you moved out to the Country !!!!!

J.

·
General Contractor
7,898 Posts