Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HO wants warmed tile floors in hallways, kitchen, etc. Radiant floor heat system already in plans for basement. Looking to do under floor PEX with heat transfer plates and insulation.

Due to trunk line following hallways in two spots, they are either going to have cold hallways or we'll need to put the PEX in first, above the ducts.

Due to cost, etc., under floor is highly preferred to Warmboard, etc.

Anyone have experience with this?

·
Registered
2,380 Posts
We have done some heated floors with pex. I'm not an expert on tankless water heaters. The mechanical contractor I have been using sells and installs Navian on demand water heaters. One side is for potable water and the other side has a re-circulation pump. The re-circulation side is a closed system so you can use glycol if needed. There is a limited amount of lineal footage you can run off the factory installed pump. We have done both glycol (for a sunroom application) and water for a bathroom floor.
We have install a thermostat to control the temperature in each room. We hold the pex down at least 1/3 of the joist space. This is because I am afraid of hitting it with a nail from the flooring.
So far the results have been great. The homeowners are very happy and they said their heating bills have remained the same. I'm not sure they could, because the water heater has to run more, but that's what they told me. The floors are evenly warm.
No complaints at all.

·
Box Builder
6,320 Posts
How about climate panel? It is only 1/2" ply and goes on top of subfloor. Are the floors already finished? I'm not clear on that. I would go climate panel way before I go underneath. Much more efficient.

·
hack of all trades
1,144 Posts
Morning Wood said: