Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new in the business and would greatly appreciate all opinions regarding quote formats.

1. Do you think it is more effective to visit the customer and then email a typed quotation or give them with a hand written quote form presented in a glossy folder with references, insurance info, etc...

2. Can anyone send me examples of quote forms that they use for on the spot quotations?

Thank you,

Pete

·
Custom Builder
4,406 Posts
Not only what prowall said, but, if you email later, you miss the "strike when the Irons hot" close. I'll bet that looses alot in the closeing % area.

Bob

·
Banned
14,078 Posts
I prefer to give them a quote on the spot. I'm continually refining my systems to allow me to get more and more precise and allow for more and more details to be defined.

The down side is my handwriting is horrible. But I have been following up after the meeting with a thank you letter and a computer version of the quote sent out the next day. I don't know if it is going to get me any jobs, but I have been told by people who didn't hire me how professional they thought I was and thanked me even though the job went to somebody else :rolleyes:

Ideally I would like a tiny laptop that boots up fast and a tiny printer that I could do the whole thing on at the kitchen table. That might be coming. It would certainly open up greatly the ability to store samples of bathroom fixtures, and pictures of things you are trying to explain to them.

·
Banned
14,078 Posts
Holy crap, I just looked at your question again. I thought you meant come back later with the quote because you needed time to figure it out.

I would never email a quote to a customer - well, not never, if he was a friend or a repeat customer that would be different.