Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello,

I'm just starting out a remodeling business and had a question. I know it's a question an account could answer but I though you guys would know.

I'll be paying alot of sub contrators for work on the jobs. Some of which are companies and some of which are individuals.

If I'm paying a painter and make the check for the job to him say John Smith. Do I need to 1099 him at the end of the year or just deduct the payment from my gross..??

What about payments to a LLC or Corporation sub.. Some of them are just 1 guy but are working under a Sub Chapter S crop or a single member LLC. Do I need to 1099 them?

Thanks for you help.

Ray

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
There is a limit for filing a 1099, it used to be that you only had to file if you paid someone/corp over $485.00 a month. Years ago, I played this to the dollar.
Any accountant can tell you what the 'skirt' is.

·
smartazz contractor
81 Posts
You also are gonna want them to carry workmens comp or you will be paying it for the when you get the annual insurance audit

·
Registered
23 Posts
sending 1099's

I would send a 1099 to every sub if you have any doubt.

It only cost a couple bucks to do and if you don't it could cost you $$$$

the only reason to avoid the max amount before you send a 1099 is so that the person whom you paid that amount is not reported to the IRS, if you have the records, for the payment (canceled check, bill, etc) you can write the bill off your taxes either way.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I appreciate any input on anything including workman's comp. THanks

Annual insurance audit? You mean annual workman's comp insurance audit?

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
Someone brought up WC where it was not warranted.
You file a 1099 for subs who should be taking care of their own business including WC.