Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I am a general contractor / carpenter in Oregon. I am going to build a green house for a friend of mine. Although I know a couple of masons around here, I thought it would be cool to see what the CT guys had to say.

My questions is this:

My friend had someone do the building pad, footings, and a small split face block retaining wall for the greenhouse already. The block looks like it was not fully grouted at all seams, just in some random corners. Then filled with concrete in all bays. I don't know if there is rebar, and the waterproof membrane is a mess and is pretty much doing the opposite of what it is supposed to do. So imediatley I feel like this is a hack job.

Should the seams always be grouted? OR is this OK for this application? It is probably a 10'x20 building with one of the 20' walls the retaining wall against the dirt.

This guy is a friend, and I was going to build the greenhouse T&M. My gut tells me the block is a hack job, but his buddy I don't know installed it. I want to make sure he didn't get screwed. What should I tell my the guy?

Thanks ahead of time.

Dan

·
Registered
686 Posts
Offhand, I'd have to agree with CJ.....by seams, you mean joints? No mortar?And I'm guessing this is split face block and not a mortarless retaining wall system? When you say, "the waterproof membrane is doing the opposite of what it was intended for"....??? I'm guessing that a) there is a waterproof membrane, and b) water is coming through? I just need a little more clarification before I call someone who I've never met a hack...But, like CJ said, as a greenhouse, it may be perfectly acceptable....they are one of the few buildings that moisture is not a real enemy....

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·